Wednesday, January 03, 2007

Anna Politkovskaya

Welcome to the exhibition devoted to the memory of prominent Russian journalist Anna Politkovskaya. ""
In her articles Anna exposed corrupt politicians, war criminals, sharply criticized the government. She was also a distinguished human rights advocate. Her murder at the hands of professional killer is another example of similar occurrences in modern Russia. There have been other journalists in Russia who wrote the truth, but her voice sounded louder than anybody else's," Grigory Yavlinsky, leader of the Yabloko party, told RFE/RL's Russian Service. In the end, Politkovskaya was killed because of her refusal to soften her criticism of the Kremlin, he believes. "She was not simply a political journalist; she was a political opponent of the authorities. In this case it is evident that they have destroyed a political opponent. The authorities have begun eliminating their political opponents physically." The exhibition will be open in full after December 10th. The new entries are coming untill this date.The exhibition was opened on December 10th 2006 on this site. 125 artists from 41 countries sent totally 403 works.75 were selected for our virtual gallery.
The list of 41 countries:Afghanistan, Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, China, Cyprus, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, India, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Macedonia, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine, Uruguay, USA
The list of participants:
Argentina - Santiago Cornejo
Armenia - Arsen Dizo
Austria - Hule Hanusic
Azerbaijan - Seyran Caferli Babak Rustamzadeh Ibrahim Nesirli
Brazil - Amorim Marcio Leite Da Silva
Bulgaria - Stefan Despodov
China - Jiang Lidong, Fan Jun, Gai Yu Xiang Yu Yang, He Xin, Sheng Kai
Cyprus- Huseyin Cakmak
France - Carlos Brito, Bernard Bouton
Germany - Alexandr Mitnyk
India- Jaiganesh Subramaniam
Iran - Shiva Zamanfar
Italy - Andrea Bersani, Alessandro Gatto
Macedonia - Jordan Pop-Iliev
Morocco - Tallil Abdellatif
Poland- Tomasz Wołoszyn Justyna
Romania- Ovidiu Ambrozie Borta, Liviu Stanila
Russia - Victor Bogorad, Sergey Elkin, Mikhail Zlatkovsky, Sergei Tunin, Vasiliy Alexandrov, Slovakia - Lubomír Kotrha, Peter Luko
South Korea- Young Sik Oh Dae Jin Kim
Spain - Armando Salas, José Ortiz Carbonero
Turkey- Ismail KarOguz Gurel
Ukraine - Dmitriy L. Bond, Vladimir Kazanevsky
USA - Andrey Feldshteyn, Damian Sheridan, Zach Trenholm

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?